SPIES, AN AUDIOBOOK, A BLOODY HISTORY, AND A BABY

Book and other news from S. Lee Manning

OBSESSED with spy books or movies?

If so, check out Spy Guys and Gals, a website that has compiled information on 2,297 spy series, covering 13,253 books, on 496 movies and 7,238 television episodes, all described in depth through the characters and each graded by the site’s creator. I’m proud to say that Kolya Petrov - the hero of my spy series - is there and received an A, besting James Bond who received an A-.

Speaking of spies and an audiobook….

Yesterday, on my birthday, my publisher released the audiobook of the second of the Kolya Petrov trilogy, Nerve Attack, read by the very talented Pavi Proczko, who brings Kolya to life. If you like audiobooks and a great spy story - “a griping page turned filled with vivid characters and unexpected plot twists” - you’ll love this. If you’re not a member of Audible, you can try it out for three months - and get Nerve Attack for free.

A bloody history revealed

The third novel in the Kolya Petrov series, Bloody Soil, has been widely praised. From Lisa Gardner: “Compelling! S. Lee Manning masterfully weaves traditional cloak and dagger plotting with a fresh new operative, Kolya Petrov, who will have you rooting until the very end.”


But along with a compelling story, Bloody Soil offers information on the Holocaust and on neo-Nazis in contemporary Germany. For any reader interested in delving deeper into that history, on my website I’m offering a free study guide to Bloody Soil.

If you’re interested in a print copy, please contact me. I have a few that I’m selling for a nominal fee. Or if you have a book group interested in discussing the issues raised in the book and explained in more depth in the study guide, I’d be happy to not only provide copies but join in the discussion.

Other book news

I’ve almost finished writing my next novel, currently titled Deadly Choice. It is not a Kolya Petrov novel, but I believe it delivers on character and thrills. I will return to writing the next Kolya book after I finish Deadly.

Some books for your summer reading pleasure:

For a Vermont themed thriller filled with descriptions of the lakes and woods, check out Stillwater Lake by J.P. Choquette

With the election season almost upon us, if you’re interested in a fun romp that stretches from Washington D.C. to Florida in a hysterical political satire, check out Richter the Mighty by J.B. Manning.

Don’t forget the Kolya Petrov trilogy. If you’ve missed any of the books, you can find them on my Amazon author page.

And a baby

So, if you were intrigued by the mention of a baby, I’m excited to announce the birth of my first granddaughter in June. I’d tell you her name - but it’s a secret until her naming ceremony, which should be any time now. So in case you were wondering what I’m doing this summer besides writing - this is it. And here she is. Isn’t she adorable?